Mortal Kombat Games Series

Mortal Kombat Games are a series of fighting games created by Midway Games. In 1992, the first entry in the series was released. Subsequently, its popularity has resulted in the creation of many sequels to the games series, and other related media. This includes for instance comic books, a card game, movies and animated TV series. Above all, Mortal Kombat is one of the most successful fighting game franchises of all time.

The series is renown for its graphic violence, for example it mixes bloody and brutal action. However, controversies surrounding its graphic Fatality finishing moves led to the formation of the Entertainment Software Rating Board.

In addition, every character in each of the Mortal Kombat games have their own ending. Therefore, these endings tend to contradict each other. As a result, only one or a few of them are the real endings. However, the real endings tend to remain a mystery until the release of the next game in the series.

Mortal Kombat Games created by Midway Games

Meanwhile, the games in the series created by Midway Games and their date of release are listed below. But the release dates below are the first time the relevant game became available. That is to say the release date for each gaming platform or region might be different. For example, Mortal Kombat vs DC Universe was released in North America on 16 November 2008. On the other hand, it was released in Europe on 21 November 2008.

Video GamesRelease Date
Mortal Kombat8 October 1992
Mortal Kombat II9 September 1994
Mortal Kombat 315 April 1995
Ultimate Mortal Kombat 36 November 1995
Mortal Kombat Trilogy10 October 1996
Mortal Kombat 415 October 1997
Mortal Kombat Gold9 September 1999
Mortal Kombat Advance12 December 2001
Mortal Kombat: Deadly Alliance16 November 2002
Mortal Kombat: Tournament Edition25 August 2003
Mortal Kombat: Deception4 October 2004
Mortal Kombat: Unchained13 November 2006
Mortal Kombat: Armageddon11 October 2006
Ultimate Mortal Kombat12 November 2007
Mortal Kombat vs. DC Universe16 November 2008

NetherRealm Studios

Subsequently, Warner Bros. Entertainment acquired the Mortal Kombat games development team on 10 July 2009 following Midway Games’s bankruptcy. After that, the team was re-established as NetherRealm Studios.

Further, on 19 April 2011 NetherRealm Studios released the next game in the series, titled Mortal Kombat. It retells the stories of Mortal Kombat, Mortal Kombat II, and Mortal Kombat 3, however with some minor alterations.

Mortal Kombat Games on Eighth-Generation Consoles

As you certainly know, VG Stores retails video games and accessories on consoles from the eight-generation consoles upward. For instance, the PS4, Xbox One and Nintendo Switch, as well as the latest generation consoles PS5 and Xbox Series.

Consequently, a list of the latest addition to the series for eight-generation consoles upward are listed below:

  1. Mortal Kombat X (7 April 2017)
  2. Mortal Kombat 11 (23 April 2019)

Shop now

Join us!

Sign up to be the first to know about our special offers, new releases and many more.

We’ll never send you spam or share your email address.

Join us!

Sign up to be the first to know about our special offers, new releases and many more.

We’ll never send you spam or share your email address.

Shopping Basket
Join Waitlist We will inform you when the product arrives in stock. Please leave your valid email address below.
Scroll to Top
WhatsApp WhatsApp us